Coosa Lodge Announces Centurion Award Recipients

by Chris Brightwell on May 28, 2015

Centurion Award Roll Out V1-01

For nearly 100 years, the Order of the Arrow has purposefully recognized Scouts and Scouters who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives. Therefore, our organization’s centennial provides a unique opportunity to commemorate those among us who are exemplars of the “high ideals and purpose of the Order of the Arrow.”

The Centurion Award aims to highlight “Hometown Heroes,” or Arrowmen who have meaningfully contributed to the forming, maturing and ongoing operational excellence of their local lodge, and who, in doing so, inspired others to follow in their footsteps.

The Coosa Lodge Key 3 solicited nominations from all of the former Coosa Lodge chiefs and advisers. Then, after careful consideration, twelve recipients were selected from those nominations.

Coosa Lodge is proud to announce its recipients for the Centurion Award:

  • Christopher D. Brightwell
  • Zack “Chief” CrossC-100919 BSA OA Centurion Medal v2 Texas MC FRONT
  • James A. Flatt
  • Mark Hayes
  • Phillip Seth Hill
  • Jon Ingram
  • William P. Jackson
  • Joseph F. Kiker
  • Donald D. Russell, Jr.
  • David R. Self
  • Clarence Julian Simmons, III
  • Daniel E. Wright

These recipients will be presented with a certificate and recognition ribbon consisting of a red and white ribbon and a metallic totem symbolizing the centennial anniversary of the Order of the Arrow.

This award is a one-time recognition associated with the centennial anniversary of the OA that is bestowed by the national Order of the Arrow committee. It is modeled after a similar program in the BSA’s 100th anniversary celebration, the 2010 National Hall of Leadership. These honorees will serve as exemplars of leadership, modeling to others a commitment to cheerful service as the Order of the Arrow enters its second century.


Previous post:

Next post: