Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented every two to three years during the National Order of the Arrow Conference. Since the time the first awards were presented, less than 840 Distinguished Service Awards have been awarded.

The award is a sterling silver arrowhead, bearing an arrow pointing upward and to the wearer’s right, suspended from a white neck-ribbon upon which are embroidered red arrows. A white square knot embroidered upon red cloth is also available. Presentation of the award is limited; nominations are open to both youth and adult.

2009 – Dr. James Flatt
Dr. Flatt is from Huntsville, AL, and the Greater Alabama Council. He is an Eagle Scout and serves on his Council Executive Board. Professionally, Dr. Flatt is a physician. He has been a key part of the development of OA training, and worked as a main adviser to the new Train the Trainer program. “If we have an MVP among adult Arrowmen in the Southern Region, James would be ours.”  Dr. Flatt currently serves as the Section Adviser for SR-9 and served as Coosa Lodge Adviser from 2000 to 2004.

2009 – Mr. Keith Swedenburg
Keith is a Vigil Honor member and has the District Award of Merit from Direct Service Council and Gamenowinink Lodge. Keith has served as the Southern Region Staff Adviser since 2006. According to his DSA nomination form, Keith “really loves scouting and especially the Order of the Arrow…it is apparent that the OA is his ‘first love.'”  Keith served as the Coosa Staff Adviser from 2003 to 2006.

2012 – James Tarbox
James was inducted into Coosa Lodge in 2001 at Camp Sequoyah. He then served in nearly every aspect of the Lodge, including ceremonies, shows, the kitchen, and the trading post, before being elected as Coosa Lodge’s only two-term Lodge Chief on his way to back-to-back elections as SR-6S and SR-9 Section Chief.  James’ experience with Coosa Shows and his success as Section Chief opened the door for him to serve as the Shows CVC at the 2009 National Order of the Arrow Conference, where he led dozens of Arrowmen in successfully planning and executing four exciting and inspirational arena shows.  James is an Eagle Scout, a James E. West fellow, a 2005 Vigil Honor recipient, and a recipient of the Founder’s Award in 2007.

2015 – Mr. Greg Moore

Greg Moore was a Vigil Honor recipient and Lodge Chief of Atta Kulla Kulla Lodge as a youth before joining Cherokee Fifty many years later. Greg was prominent during the consolidation process, emerging as our first Nominations and Recognition committee adviser and one of our first Associate Lodge Advisers. After Dr. James Flatt stepped down as Lodge Adviser, Greg was chosen to succeed him. After four years of service as Lodge Adviser, Greg resigned that post and was asked to serve as an Associate Section Adviser for Section SR-9. During his time as Associate Section Adviser, Greg found new opportunities to serve Scouting across SR-9 and the Southern Region. Greg served as the Deputy Lead Adviser for the Day of Service Messengers of Peace program at the 2013 National Jamboree. He has also served on several staffs for national events such as NOAC, SummitCorps, and multiple NLATS Courses.